6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 17, 2017 8:06 AM by sharakarasic

What got you started in healthcare?

Whether you are a nurse, administrator, physician, hospital officer, or HLC admin, we'd love to hear your story about what inspired you to do what you're doing now.

• Re: What got you started in healthcare?

I was asked this question recently in an Emerging Leaders class and the only thing I could think of at the time was "I was born in a hospital." Got some laughs out of it. Ok so for real, I got started in Healthcare doing community health education and fundraising for the American Lung Association of Florida. Later I worked in Higher education, but returned again to Healthcare in a position with Nemours Children's Health system where I was an instructional designer and eLearning designer/developer. For the past five years I've been with Baptist Health in Jacksonville Florida. I like working in Healthcare, and the organization I currently work for, because of the mission to improve peoples' lives. And it's meaningful to work collaboratively with others who share a common commitment to the values of the organization.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
            Angela Foxx

I worked at Hospice Palliative Care of Greensboro as an intern in college and loved the atmosphere and the ability to help as well as the job security.

Virginia Fleeger